How to Add a User to Google My Business

What is Google My Business?

Google analytics is an analytics platform that is installed on most websites. This tracks visitors and their actions while visiting your website. Having and analyzing data on how people engage with your site is extremely powerful.

Why do we need access to Google My Business?

Having access to google analytics allows us to review how your website is working, look into specific questions you might have about your website traffic and analyze how a change might have changed how users engage with your website.

Providing access to Google My Business

Owners of Business Profiles can invite additional users to become owners and managers. Each person can have their own access without sharing sign-in information.  Owners, managers, and site managers all have different levels of access to the profile.

Owners: Each profile can have multiple owners, but only one primary owner. Owners and primary owners have the same capabilities, but a primary owner can’t remove themselves from a profile until they transfer their primary ownership to another user. 

Managers: Managers have most of the capabilities of an owner, but don’t have the more sensitive capabilities, like removing the profile or managing users.

Site managers: Site managers have most of the capabilities of a manager, but can’t edit all business information. A site manager can request to upgrade to a manager or owner of a verified listing. The owner can approve or deny the request.

To add users to a profile:

  1. On your computer, sign in to Google My Business.
    If you have multiple locations, open the location you’d like to manage.
  2. In the menu on the left, click Users.
  3. At the top right, click Invite new users .
  4. Enter the name or email address of the user you’d like to add.
    Note: If you’re adding an agency to your location, you’ll need to add the agency’s location group ID here. (You may need to reach out to the agency and ask for this ID.)
  5. To select the user’s role, click Choose a role Owner, Manager, or Site manager.
  6. Click Invite. Invitees will have the option to accept the invitation and immediately become users.

This page displays all active users and people who are invited to become users. To cancel pending invitations, click X in the row with the invitation you want to remove.

When an invitation is accepted, the owners of the profile are notified through email. All users in the account can find the names and email addresses of the owners and managers of the profile.